About Us

To register for any program, call the Parks & Recreation office at 748-1623.

About Elli

CIMG2388Elli Morris, volunteer Outdoor Programs spokesperson, freelance photographer and writer, loves Chesterfield Outdoor Programs! So much so she coordinated community efforts to successfully save the section from 100% budget cuts. She leads Outdoor Programs kayak trips, works at the Challenge Course, and co-leads various hiking and camping adventures.

If you, your civic group, business or corporation is interested in sponsoring activities for kids or adults who don’t yet know the wonders of being outdoors, please contact Elli at 804-204-1364 or elli@ellimorris.com. There are many different levels and many different opportunities to help people get outside, love the outdoors and play.

About the Chesterfield County Outdoors Staff

Contact Mark Battista, County Naturalist, to schedule a nature program or for information about the Dutch Gap Conservation Area. Nature programs are designed for all ages and cover diverse topics such as nature hikes, nature kayak tours, astronomy programs, wildlife education, plant ID and campfire and storytelling programs. Call 804-318-8735 or BattistaM@chesterfield.gov

Contact Greg Velzy, Adventure Programmer, for all paddling instruction and water safety information, in addition to rock climbing, backpacking, sailing and horseback riding instruction and trips. Also contact Greg for river information and water access questions. Call 804-748-1124 or email VelzyG@chesterfield.gov

Contact Bob Smet, Outdoor Programmer, for information about Rockwood Park Nature Center offering science, homeschool & scout programs, wildlife birthday parties and preschool classes. Also available: mountain biking, orienteering, geocaching, fly fishing, archery, beekeeping, folk music, night hikes & camp-ins plus service projects and volunteer opportunities. Call 804-745-8360 or email SmetR@chestrfield.gov

Contact Jan Olson, Challenge Course Manager, to schedule a Challenge Course program for your group, be it school, church, business, or wedding party. Call 804-751- 4133 or email OlsonJ@chesterfield.gov

Contact Noel Losen, Outdoor Program Manager, for general program questions. Call 804-748-1129 or email LosenN@chesterfield.gov